More Connected Than Ever. Or, Are We?

I wonder how relationships will continue to change with the help of social media?  In one of my advanced classes last week, we watched a news special titled ‘The Facebook Obsession,’ which lead to a nice class discussion about today’s relationships.

With today’s technology, we have more opportunities than ever to connect with others regardless our distance.  We eagerly share, critique, collaborate, and humor each other on a personal and professional level.  But with all of this, are we really truly connected?  Has the advancement in social networking affected our relationships for the better?   Have we gone from genuine to superficial relationships?

Interestingly enough, the kids don’t see a concern or a deteriation in our relationships.  I’m not surprised when they have grown up with this technology while I am just trying to understand it all.  Maybe it’s just me, but I sometimes feel as if all this social media has become more of a distraction for some.  Don’t get me wrong, it is wonderful to be able to share with other professionals and stay in touch with distant friends and family; however, so much technology calls for a balance.  I feel it’s important students are able to manage social technology without losing sight and the appreciation of having a genuine relationship.

Leave a comment