CTER Born Explorers – Course Reflection

CTER born explorers . . . If you weren’t a natural born explorer at the start of the CTER program, you’re definitely on your way with the completion of the EPSY 590. A course that not only allows you to explore technology, but explore technology that benefits you and your instruction in your very own classroom. Freedom to work with technology in a way that would help my students become more engaged and me to become a better instructor. Even as an adult student, it’s not very often that you participate in a course that allows such freedom. And it is for this very reason that I thank you for the freedom to explore technology without restraints.

Of all technologies covered in this course, I valued the time blogging, exploring Edmodo, use of cell phones in the classroom, and simply the value of all the resources shared by all. Some of you may be asking how I could have valued blogging when my blog is so bleak. The answer is that it actually encouraged me to start my own classroom blog for my web III class. It is with this blog that I stepped outside of my comfort zone of teaching students how to create web sites to actually discussing the impact of these very technologies on society. Students began to explore and blog their thoughts on the ethics, responsibility, and anonymity of living with web 2.0 technologies.  It was a great accomplishment and addition that brought life and interest back into my method of teaching.

And just when I was excited about using Moodle in my classroom, this class introduced me to Edmodo.  I was so impressed with its ease of use and appreciated its similarities in appearance with Facebook.  I didn’t implement it in my classroom this semester, but am currently preparing an Edmodo location for next year’s Consumer Education courses.  I would have never been exposed to Edmodo as an option to Moodle if it wasn’t for EPSY 590.

I have also started experimenting with cell phones in the classroom despite our district rule of no cell phones in school.  The way I see it is that they use them anyway, so why not show them how to use them for educational purposes.

Most importantly, I valued and appreciated the time to develop a curriculum project of relevance and use in my own classroom.  Without this course, the likelihood of developing a digital citizenship wiki for our business department this year was slim.  We now have a central location of lessons, videos, and statistics on a topic so desperately needed by students.

Thank you to all for sharing your knowledge and spreading your passion and energy for teaching with technology!  The course was a great example of how web 2.0 technologies work by allowing us to share and collaborate so easily taking away ideas and knowledge that fulfilled our specific needs and motivating us to continue to explore.

Leave a Reply

